Robin in Ghana!

It’s hard to believe, but soon it will be three years since I volunteered with YCI in Ghana in February 2010. I have been up to quite a bit since I volunteered and the path my life has taken can all be connected back to my experience with YCI. When I went to Ghana, I was at a point in my life where I had been out of university for about a year, and wasn’t sure what I was going to do with my life. I figured this was my chance to go to Africa-a place I had always dreamed of going. I went, I volunteered and from that experience, I was re-energized and ready to start my new path in life. I applied to do my Masters at Acadia University and have spent the past two years of my life studying international volunteerism. During my studies I had the privilege of being a co-leader on two international projects to Belize and Argentina, and I spent six weeks in The Gambia conducting research for my masters. I am now working with the Town of Wolfville as their Programs & Events Coordinator while I finish my thesis. In my position, I get to work with youth in my community. My hope is to encourage these youth to participate in international volunteerism and experience a new culture and challenge themselves. I also continue to work with various international NGO’s including the Paradigm Shift Project, Oxfam Canada, and The Atlantic Council for International Cooperation. I have to continue working with you and creating opportunities for people to volunteer overseas. These are incredible life-changing experiences. For me, volunteering internationally has become a regular aspect of my life. I have had some great opportunities over the past couple years and it all started with my project in Ghana with YCI.

-Robin Campbell, Youth Ambassador, Ghana 2010

