March 18th: A Day Like No Other!

Today started off like any other typical day.  After studying a little for my economics course before work at the local King Street Starbucks, I made my way to the office, battling the morning rush-hour traffic, with a double-tall vanilla non-fat latte in hand (yes, I know, I’m THAT kind of Starbucks customer!).

 

I was mid-way through a full day of e-news writing, email-answering, and bank-depositing, when some bad news fell into my lap.  I was causally checking my personal email after lunch, and learned that I had been unceremoniously rejected from one of the graduate programs I had applied to.  I turned to my coworkers and, dejected, let them know that I no longer had as great of a chance of going to grad school in the fall.  They gave me pats on the back and a couple of words of support and encouragement – talking about creating “plan Bs” and unabashedly ridiculing the school that had sent me the unfortunate news.  I managed to crack a smile, thinking about how great the YCI team was for keeping my spirits high.

 

And then, not even 20 minutes later, I felt the need to check my email just once more.  This time, I noticed an email from McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario – another graduate school I had applied to.  Before I even had the chance to click on it, the words “we are pleased to tell you” popped out at me from the subject line, and I immediately knew what I would find inside!

 

With a whoop, I jumped out of my office chair, and right away the YCI staff were at my side, giving me hugs and high-fives.  I couldn’t believe that in the span of half an hour, I had been rejected AND accepted to grad school!

 

Well, this called for a celebration.  Myself and a couple of my colleagues headed down Queen Street West to a little place called Dufflet, an expensive pastry shop, and picked up the richest, most delicious chocolate mousse cake we could find (see accompanying photo – mmm).  The YCI gang gathered around the lunchroom table and talked and laughed about our lives, the future, and all the awesome things that it can bring.

 

Sarah holding the delectable Dufflet chocolate mousse cake!

Sarah holding the delectable Dufflet chocolate mousse cake!

And to think, I was nearly hit by a cab this morning.  It’s amazing what 20 minutes can do to change your day, and your life, in the most profound of ways!

 

– Sarah Tuckey, Administrative Assistant

2 thoughts on “March 18th: A Day Like No Other!

  1. ASOJECOMRWANDA IS AN ACCOUNTANT YOUTH ASSOCIATION WORK IN RWANDA FOR FIGHT AGAINST :UNEMPLOYEMENT,CORRUPTION,POVERTY,DROGUE,AIDS.
    ASOJECOMRWNDA IS AN ASSOCIATION OF YOUTH WICH HAVE STUDY ACCOUNTING IN SECONDARY BY TEY HAVE NOT FAUND A CHANCE TO CONTINUE IN UNIVERSITY BECAUSE OF FINANCE MEANS,AND THEY HAVEN’T JOB(ARE JOBSEEKER).
    THEIR ACTIVITIES:
    1.TO HELP THE LOCALL TRADER IN THEIR ACCOUNTING ACTIVITIES(FINANCIAL STATMENT:BALANCE SHEET………)
    WE ARE LOOKING FOR NGOs,FONDATIONS,FIRMS,ASSOCIATIONS,OR ATHER WHO CAN HELP US IN FORMATION OR ATHER WAY ,OR WHO CAN ENJOY TO BE OUR PARTNERS,OR OUR HONORS MEMBERS.OR SOME ONE WHO CAN SUPPORT US.

    OUR ADRESS:
    CAUNTRY:RWANDA
    CITY:KIGALI
    DISTRICT:KICUKIRO
    SECTOR:MASAKA
    CARTIER:KABUGA

    EXECUTIVE STAFF:

    CHAIRMAN AND FOUNDER:
    MUGISHA FONTAINE
    TEL:+2500788886081
    EMAIL:mugaine2008@yahoo.fr,asojecom@yahoo.fr
    POBOX:80RWAMAANA
    DIRECTOR OF MARKETING AND CUSTOM SERVICE
    NSHIMIYE ERIC:+250783409675

    REGARDS

  2. Pingback: Sparkplug Sarah Rides « Youth Challenge International

Leave a Reply

