Q & A: Heather Auden, Volunteer Program Manager!

Last week marked Heather’s one-month anniversary at YCI’s head office as our new Volunteer Program Manager! Heather comes to YCI from Right to Play where she was involved with recruiting and supported volunteers in Asia and Africa. Read on to find out more about why Heather decided to join our Toronto team.

What does your job with YCI involve?
Volunteers!  As the Volunteer Program Manager my main role is to recruit and support volunteers as they prepare for their upcoming projects.  Which is amazing because you get to experience the excitement as each volunteer gets ready to embark on an adventure.

How did you get involved with YCI?
In my previous job I also worked with international volunteers, a number of whom had worked as volunteers on a YCI project before and so I was very familiar with the amazing experience that YCI projects can give volunteers. I have a few friends and colleagues that have worked at YCI over the years so I knew that it was a fantastic organization. When the job came up I jumped at the chance!

What motivates you?
I’m a bit of a learning nerd and a lot of my motivation comes from there.  I think that learning and having your eyes opened to the issues that concern all of us around the world naturally leads to wanting to do something about it.

Which youth issue most concerns you?
That youth have access to opportunities, both in the developed and developing world.  Whether that means overcoming systemic barriers like gender inequalities or means sharing information so that youth know what opportunities exist (like going on a YCI project!).

What else do you do?
I’m a people person so I love to spend time with friends and family.  I love to travel, read, listen to music and am a HUGE fan of podcasts. I play soccer once a week and dabble in other activities like tennis, yoga and – I’m not afraid to say it – I love to go to Zumba.  I’m also a part-time student working towards a masters in Adult Education and Community Development.

Leave a Reply

