YCI-Toronto, Program Assistant Intern: Jean Grant

Jean in the village Nzulezo in Ghana

I am excited to say that I have already been interning at the YCI office for almost a month now.  After being a Youth Ambassador in Ghana this past winter, I was thrilled at the opportunity to start an internship at the Toronto office, and see what really goes on behind the scenes.  My work in Ghana was what inspired me to continue to pursue a career in international development.  It was a completely new experience for me and I found it so inspiring working with YCI employees in the field, as well as partner organizations’ volunteers and employees, who are so passionate about their work.  I am finding it really exciting to work for an organization that facilitates such life shaping experiences in youth.

I am lucky because I get to work for all three of the amazing managers here at YCI – Heather, Lauren, and Jane – which means I never get bored and always have a variety of work to do.  I am motivated daily by everyone at the office’s humour, goodwill, and collaborative nature.  It has been a very easy transition.

When I am not at YCI, you can find me enjoying good food, reading a good book, or doing the occasional Moksha class.

– Jean Grant is a Program Assistant Intern at Youth Challenge International’s Headquarters in Toronto. She was also a Youth Ambassador in Ghana during Winter 2011. Click here to read her blog post from her last week on project in Ghana. 

2 thoughts on “YCI-Toronto, Program Assistant Intern: Jean Grant

Leave a Reply

