Staff Q&A: Sarah Vickery

Sarah joined the YCI team as a Program Coordinator in December. Prior to joining us in the office, she was a Youth Ambassador and an Innovator in Ghana in 2008 and 2009. Since volunteering with YCI, she completed the Humber IPMP postgraduate program and completed an IYIP placement with Niagara College in South Africa.

Sarah at the Olympics in her hometown of Vancouver. Photo not from actual competition; she has never really curled in her life.

WHAT DOES YOUR JOB AT YCI INVOLVE?

I do a number of things at YCI. I am responsible for post-secondary and alumni engagement. I also do the social media content (thanks for checking out this blog by the way!) and have assisted with some fundraising.

HOW DID YOU GET INVOLVED WITH YCI?

I wanted to volunteer overseas in the fall of 2008 and someone in my office at the YMCA mentioned YCI. I googled it right away and applied online to go to Ghana.  While on project with YCI, one of the volunteers had just completed the Humber program. I applied to Humber pretty much the day after I returned to Canada. That first YCI experience definitely affected the whole course of what I was doing in life.

WHAT MOTIVATES YOU?

The future! (I am a pretty optimistic person) I have worked with children and youth for a long time and you never know who might end up president, a life saving doctor, a famous soccer player, write the world’s greatest book, or where you personally might end up. I think it’s important to take a chance and invest in people.

WHAT ISSUE CONCERNS YOU MOST?

Youth Engagement! The best way to fight apathy is to have meaningful youth participation and involvement in every aspect of society. I am a huge proponent in the ‘no decisions about us, without us’ ideal.

WHAT ELSE DO YOU DO?

Besides trying to keep my own blog (SarahLeone) up to date, I like sports a lot, though not so much winter sports. I enjoy reading, but mostly non-fiction books. I recently got a cookbook and have been trying my luck at that. I also have a penchant for really bad TV.

5 thoughts on “Staff Q&A: Sarah Vickery

  1. Pingback: This is Our 300th Blog Post! « Youth Challenge International

Leave a Reply

