Dylan Bub: “My Experience in Tanzania So Far Has Been Beyond Incredible”

Dylan Bub is on location in Tanzania to foster youth empowerment at The Umoja Centre in Arusha. Dylan shares his enthusiasm for going on his first YCI project and gives an insight into what it’s like to live and work in Tanzania as a YCI Youth Ambassador.

View of Mount Kilimanjaro from Arusha

View of Mount Kilimanjaro from Arusha

Why volunteer? Why leave the comfort and stability of everyday life knowing that life abroad will be tiring, different and sometimes difficult? Is it to teach others, to learn, to experience a new country, to meet new people and to make friends? I have the pleasure to be in Tanzania for 8-weeks this summer and I have already experienced all these things and more.

My experience in Tanzania so far has been beyond incredible. Having volunteered abroad before, I have had the thrill of immersing myself in this new country but as the saying goes, you never cross the same rivers twice.

In my first few weeks in Tanzania, I noticed a couple of unique things about this country that goes beyond the great weather, palm trees, and exotic food. The volunteers are all amazing people, each bringing a unique set of skills to their projects. Even more impressive are the in-country coordinators whom have been enthusiastic and welcoming to me since day one, making me feel completely at home. In the short time I have been in Tanzania, I can already feel that this trip will be life altering.

My particular placement is in Arusha where I have the pleasure of working with another YCI volunteer Katherine Lu at The Umoja Centre. This Centre is a fantastic place for Tanzanian youth since it equips students with the essential skills to help them achieve their future goals. Imagine having your future goal of going to secondary school, or opening a tourism business come to fruition through the support of the  The Umoja Centre. This Centre is clearly an invaluable resource for many youth in Tanzania and I feel privileged to be volunteering here.

Speaking of Arusha, there is no doubt that this is a beautiful city. If you’re a fan of wonderful weather, great food, a safari and Mount Kilimanjaro as your view then “karibu to Arusha!” Lastly, as a YCI volunteer, you’ll be sure to not only gain a memorable experience, but also to gain valuable skills. I say open your minds and your horizons to the unique volunteer projects YCI offers.

Here’s to challenges and personal growth ahead!

 

One thought on “Dylan Bub: “My Experience in Tanzania So Far Has Been Beyond Incredible”

  1. Tanzania and The Umoja Centre will get in your blood and change your life forever! You are lucky to have this experience and I’m sure your enthusiasm will be very encouraging for the students.

Leave a Reply

