Emma Luker in Nungwi – Community Youth Development In a Fisherman’s Village

Justeen and I teaching a Climate Change workshop in Mwajuni (a village close to Nungwi)

Emma and Justeen teaching a Climate Change workshop in Mwajuni (a village close to Nungwi)

Daily Life in Nungwi

Every morning here in Nungwi I am excited to wake up and get out of bed. Why? The breakfast of course! I am only 3 weeks into my placement in rural, northern Zanzibar and I already know that when I go back home to Canada I am going to miss the food like crazy! Chapati (fried, flatbread), maandazi (deep fried doughnuts) and sweet, spiced tea (chai); what else do you need to kick start your day? After brushing our teeth and a quick “Siku njema, Mama!” (“Have a good day, Mother!”), Justeen De Ocampo and I are out the door.

Another one of the best parts of my day is walking to work. After about 15 called greetings of “jambo,” (“hello”) from the local children heading to school, all decked out in their white shirts and blue pants, who wouldn’t have a smile on their face? That is just the way things are here in Nungwi. Everyone knows everyone, everyone is incredibly friendly and everyone is ALWAYS “nzuri” (“fine”). I love walking down the street and seeing familiar faces, some of them my own English or computer class students, and overall I just feel at home here.

Our morning destination is Labayka, a community-based organization which is currently overseeing the Zanzibar Employment Enterprise Training (ZEET) project. This means our days are filled with helping to build the capacity of local businesses in order to increase their productivity and sustainability. That is not all, Justeen and I are also in charge of teaching daily professional English and computer classes to local youth and drafting two future action plans for the local community, one to do with eco-tourism and the other to do with climate change adaptation strategies.  We are always busy, but between us and the amazingly energetic and hard-working Labayka staff, our days are consistently dynamic and satisfying.

Every day we walk home past the small local businesses and the dala-dala stop with the usual chorus of “jambo!” from all directions. Amongst the children walking home from school I sometimes spot my eldest host brother, proudly sporting the Canadian flag pin I gave him on his uniform shirt. That is definitely something I look forward to every day: coming home to my three host brother’s smiling faces, and watching Swahili soap operas of course.

I am 3 weeks in and I already never want to leave. Every day is an adventure and I am incredibly grateful that I am experiencing this amazing opportunity!

Emma walking on the beach in Nungwi.

Emma walking on the beach in Nungwi.

– Emma Luker, Youth Ambassador, Tanzania 2013

Leave a Reply

