Business World Meets International Development. YCI Welcomes Business Intern, Jason Lane

Jason Lane joins YCI staff at our Toronto Headquarters during this lovely summer. He comes to us from Alberta as a Business Administration student from the Canadian University College. Read his thoughts below about his experience so far as YCI’s new Business Intern.

Screen shot 2013-06-18 at 4.03.30 PM

What Does Your Job at YCI Entail?

At YCI, I am in charge of finding new ways to recruit participants for our events, managing the online ad campaign, and I aid in other marketing and fundraising projects.

How Did You Get Involved with YCI? 

As a Business student, I am required to complete a 120-hour internship. Bryan Cox, Executive Director of YCI, told me about the opportunities available. The experience that I would gain from interning at YCI sounded far more useful and exciting than any other internship opportunities, and that is why I’m here today!

What Motivates You?

I am most motivated by success. It feels good to know that I have done something well, regardless of its significance. Other strong motivators are friends and family. They have great confidence in my ability and I like to ensure that their confidence is well placed.

Which Youth Issue Concerns You the Most?

In both developed and developing countries, I think education is a major youth issue. I believe that education is crucial for the development of our youth, and it is vital to improving our future. In developing countries the issue may be access to education, whereas in a developed country it may be lack of motivation to excel in school.

What Else Do You Do?

During the winter I enjoy cross-country skiing, weight training, and snowboarding. In the summer, my favorite things to do include golfing, running, and going to the cottage. Also, I am in my third year of a Bachelor of Business Administration degree. I love learning, so I am very excited to be continuing my education with a Master’s degree.

– Jason Lane, Business Intern (Summer 2013)

Leave a Reply

