YCI Intern: Introducing Raizza!

Raizza joined YCI as the new Social Media and Communications Intern last January. She is a Technical Communication student at Seneca@York and is completing her co-op placement. She’s sort of a techie/artist mix, dabbling in graphic design, photography, and web development. She hopes to utilize her skills in giving back to the community.

blog_image

I was recently transplanted from the sunny Philippines to Canada, the True North. There are a lot of challenges a young person can come across being in a new country. For me, it was settling in and finding a job. I would have been happy getting any job to get “Canadian Experience”, yet I was told that going that way would be a waste of my studies and talents. So I went back to school. I stumbled upon Youth Challenge International during my search for a co-op placement. I wasn’t going anywhere with the employers on the school website, so I tried my luck in looking for an internship outside of school. That’s when I saw YCI’s ad in Charity Village, and the position suits the kind of experience I was looking for.

I have a Bachelor’s degree in Fine Arts, major in Advertising Arts, and I’m currently taking a post-grad certificate in Technical Communications at Seneca. Both programs are in the communications field, which makes me suitable for the Social Media and Communications Assistant position. I’ve previously worked as a Graphic Designer, Photographer, Technical Support Representative, and even as an ESL Instructor.

I’ve volunteered and worked with various non-profit organizations in the Philippines: I was with Red Cross at a young age, volunteered as a Junior Graphic Artist with my university’s network management services, worked with a marine biologist’s dolphin research, and worked for a local NGO for fishermen. I want to work with non-profit organizations because I believe in giving back to the community and making a difference by utilizing my technical and creative skills.

When I’m not at work, I still spend a lot of time in front of the computer, either playing games, reading news and articles, creating some designs. I like to read – a lot – even receipts and nutritional values on food items. I like going out for a walk with my husband. I also love photography, though I haven’t done anything creative lately. I’m still continuously honing my creative skills. Check out my amateurish photos here.

– Raizza Moldovan, Social Media and Communications Intern, Winter 2014

Leave a Reply

