New Intern: Introducing Lena

Lena has recently joined YCI as the Communications and Marketing Assistant. Born and raised in Toronto, she is a recent graduate of McGill University, where she studied Political Science and Communications.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I became interested in international development through my studies of international politics during university, as well as through my involvement with various charity organizations at McGill. I am specifically interested in youth engagement and community development, and believe that a youth-focused appraoch to international development is incredibly valuable. Having spent several years working with Canadian youth in various capacities, it’s really interesting to gain a new perspective on youth outreach in the development field.

Because I enjoy research, writing and media, I’m thrilled to be able to work in a communications role for an organization that does inspiring work. In my role as Communications and Marketing Assistant, I am responsible for managing YCI’s social media platforms by searching for and publishing content, promoting YCI’s projects, and engaging online with our friends and supporters. I also curate and publish content on the YCI blog, where we share stories from YCI alumni. I enjoy this role because I have the opportunity to learn a lot about YCI’s projects as well as the broader international development world as I read and curate articles, and can also utilize my own creative skills when I write my own content. This role has given me an opportunity to develop my own professional skill-set, as well as be part of an awesome team!

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

