YCI Celebrates International Volunteer Day!

Today is International Volunteer Day! This is a chance to recognize and celebrate volunteerism, honoring those who give their time to make a difference.

In celebration of International Volunteer Day, YCI wants to honour our amazing volunteers! Read on to learn what inspires them to volunteer abroad.

Aleatha Bedard-Poole Ghana 2014 “I volunteer to invest in others and empower individuals to do the same!”

Aleatha Bedard-Poole Ghana 2014
“I volunteer to invest in others and empower individuals to do the same!”

Ali-Chuma Tabaro Koforidua Ghana, 2011 “What inspired me to volunteer beyond my desire to make a difference for others less fortunate is the opportunity to do so with the guidance and support I receive volunteering with YCI.”

Ali-Chuma Tabaro Koforidua Ghana, 2011
“What inspired me to volunteer beyond my desire to make a difference for others less fortunate is the opportunity to do so with the guidance and support I receive volunteering with YCI.”

 Allison Burney Guyana, 2012 “I see volunteering as an opportunity to learn about the world by experiencing aspects of another country, including the culture, food, language, and lifestyle. I want to meet the people there, exchange ideas, and learn from each other.”

Allison Burney Guyana, 2012
“I see volunteering as an opportunity to learn about the world by experiencing aspects of another country, including the culture, food, language, and lifestyle. I want to meet the people there, exchange ideas, and learn from each other.”

Stephen Cornish, Executive Director, Doctors without Borders Canada CRIV and CRV 1993/94 “Volunteering allowed me to gain experience, grow as a person and to begin what has become a life-long vocation in overseas assistance. I continue to serve as a board member for YCI thus giving back in a very small way; for what I received as a young YCI group leader many years ago.”

Stephen Cornish, Executive Director, Doctors without Borders Canada CRIV and CRV 1993/94
“Volunteering allowed me to gain experience, grow as a person and to begin what has become a life-long vocation in overseas assistance. I continue to serve as a board member for YCI thus giving back in a very small way; for what I received as a young YCI group leader many years ago.”

Samuel Legay Guyana 1990 “Looking around and seeing so many things to be done to be done in my country inspired me to volunteer in an effort to help others and give back to my country.”

Samuel Legay Guyana 1990
“Looking around and seeing so many things to be done to be done in my country inspired me to volunteer in an effort to help others and give back to my country.”

Stephanie Hanson,  Mwanza, Tanzania, 2013 “I am inspired to volunteer because I know the way towards progress is to emulate the change you want to see in the world. I beleive that our responsibilities to help others do not end simply because our borders do – everyone deserves to have their rights upheld.”

Rakshin Kandola Costa Rica (2011-2012) and Ghana (2014) "We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give." - Winston Churchill. I was inspired to volunteer so that I would be able to give others. I have always had a passion for helping others in any way possible and this lead me to the path of volunteering.”

Rakshin Kandola Costa Rica (2011-2012) and Ghana (2014)
“We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give.” – Winston Churchill. I was inspired to volunteer so that I would be able to give others. I have always had a passion for helping others in any way possible and this lead me to the path of volunteering.”

Nikki Owens Koforidua, Ghana, 2009 “What inspires me to volunteer? Everything! Meeting new people, the never-ending learning opportunities, the chance to influence and help others while giving them them the chance to partake and learn the skills to better their community themselves.”

Nikki Owens Koforidua, Ghana, 2009
“What inspires me to volunteer? Everything! Meeting new people, the never-ending learning opportunities, the chance to influence and help others while giving them them the chance to partake and learn the skills to better their community themselves.”

Nathalie Landry Tanzania, 2012 “I volunteered with YCI and continue to volunteer in my community, because I believe in the power of community and learning from each-other. By opening up to others, we gain a better perspective about our world and how we truly all want the same things: health, happiness, love, safety, security, an education, the chance to be free and choose our own paths. Volunteering, sharing skills and knowledge and forging new friendships makes me feel connected and empowered.”

Nathalie Landry Tanzania, 2012
“I volunteered with YCI and continue to volunteer in my community, because I believe in the power of community and learning from each-other. By opening up to others, we gain a better perspective about our world and how we truly all want the same things: health, happiness, love, safety, security, an education, the chance to be free and choose our own paths. Volunteering, sharing skills and knowledge and forging new friendships makes me feel connected and empowered.”

Marlee Jordan Ghana, 2013 “Seeing the difference you can make in the lives of others is what inspires me to volunteer. I jumped at the opportunity to see how others live in other parts of the world and embrace the culture. For me, volunteering has a way of empowering you to work harder and try to positively contribute to the lives of others. It was so rewarding to interact with the youth and the memories made in Ghana will continue to nurture my personal and professional choices.”

Marlee Jordan Ghana, 2013
“Seeing the difference you can make in the lives of others is what inspires me to volunteer. I jumped at the opportunity to see how others live in other parts of the world and embrace the culture. For me, volunteering has a way of empowering you to work harder and try to positively contribute to the lives of others. It was so rewarding to interact with the youth and the memories made in Ghana will continue to nurture my personal and professional choices.”

Julien Morissette Vanuatu, 2005 “I volunteer to convey energy to others, and to learn about myself.”

Julien Morissette Vanuatu, 2005
“I volunteer to convey energy to others, and to learn about myself.”

Katherine Lemay Koforidua, Ghana, 2014 “As an educated, healthy, and well surrounded young woman, I believe that it is my duty to go out and be a positive member of our global society. A channel for me to be just that is through volunteerism.”

Katherine Lemay Koforidua, Ghana, 2014
“As an educated, healthy, and well surrounded young woman, I believe that it is my duty to go out and be a positive member of our global society. A channel for me to be just that is through volunteerism.”

Kayla Kozan Ghana, 2013 “I'm inspired to volunteer by the opportunity to educate but more importantly, the opportunity to become educated in the traditions and beauty of another culture.”

Kayla Kozan Ghana, 2013
“I’m inspired to volunteer by the opportunity to educate but more importantly, the opportunity to become educated in the traditions and beauty of another culture.”

Kendra Seignoret Guyana, 2012 “I volunteer because I believe it is important to participate in and to give back to the community, be it local or on a global scale. It is also a fantastic way to possibly inspire others while definitely being inspired myself to continue living life to the fullest.” — with Kendra Seignoret.

Kendra Seignoret Guyana, 2012
“I volunteer because I believe it is important to participate in and to give back to the community, be it local or on a global scale. It is also a fantastic way to possibly inspire others while definitely being inspired myself to continue living life to the fullest.”

Kayla Seguin Costa Rica, 2011 “Being part of something big and an effort toward change is what inspires me to keep volunteering and/or donating. From the people you meet and cultures you learn about to the sparkle in people's eyes is all I need to know that volunteering, caring and helping others is one of the greatest gifts.”

Kayla Seguin Costa Rica, 2011
“Being part of something big and an effort toward change is what inspires me to keep volunteering and/or donating. From the people you meet and cultures you learn about to the sparkle in people’s eyes is all I need to know that volunteering, caring and helping others is one of the greatest gifts.”

Madhab Bastakoti Ghana, 2013 “I love sharing my knowledge and skills with some charitable organization. In doing so, I also develop new skills and new ways of thinking.”

Madhab Bastakoti Ghana, 2013
“I love sharing my knowledge and skills with some charitable organization. In doing so, I also develop new skills and new ways of thinking.”

Marco Chan Accra, Ghana, 2014 “I am inspired knowing that I will be able to shares skills that I have learned in school to help people in developing regions succeed in building successful businesses.”

Marco Chan Accra, Ghana, 2014
“I am inspired knowing that I will be able to shares skills that I have learned in school to help people in developing regions succeed in building successful businesses.”

Jill Osler Guyana, 2005 “My inspiration for volunteering is that I want to continue to strive to help improve the quality of life of the community around me."

Jill Osler Guyana, 2005
“My inspiration for volunteering is that I want to continue to strive to help improve the quality of life of the community around me.”

Jessica O'Reilly Guyana, 2013 "I want to make an impact in the lives of others - small or large, it is all as equally important."

Jessica O’Reilly Guyana, 2013
“I want to make an impact in the lives of others – small or large, it is all as equally important.”

Jessica Lockhart Vanuatu, 2006 “I grew up in a small town in northern Alberta, where the value of community involvement was instilled in me from an early age. Volunteering in both our local and global communities provides a unique opportunity to interact with and learn from people that we wouldn’t otherwise have the opportunity to meet.” Tag PhotoAdd LocationEdit

Jessica Lockhart Vanuatu, 2006
“I grew up in a small town in northern Alberta, where the value of community involvement was instilled in me from an early age. Volunteering in both our local and global communities provides a unique opportunity to interact with and learn from people that we wouldn’t otherwise have the opportunity to meet.”

Jeremy Neeposh Costa Rica 2009; Vanuatu 2010; Costa Rica 2012 “I volunteer to see, experience and live a day-to-day life of people from all over the world. Volunteering gives you just that, its the best way to experience the world.” Tag PhotoAdd LocationEdit

Jeremy Neeposh Costa Rica 2009; Vanuatu 2010; Costa Rica 2012
“I volunteer to see, experience and live a day-to-day life of people from all over the world. Volunteering gives you just that, its the best way to experience the world.”

Erin Scott Tanzania, 2012 “I'm inspired to volunteer by the very organizations I work with. I love volunteering because it gives me the opportunity to help others, learn new things, and engage with my local and global communities.” Tag PhotoAdd LocationEdit

Erin Scott Tanzania, 2012
“I’m inspired to volunteer by the very organizations I work with. I love volunteering because it gives me the opportunity to help others, learn new things, and engage with my local and global communities.”

Emma Luker Tanzania, Zanzibar, 2013 “I am inspired to volunteer by all the other hardworking and passionate volunteers that I know who work together to achieve the common goal of making the world a happier and more equitable place. Plus the friendships you make and the adventures you have along the way are pretty inspiring too, making you just want to volunteer more!”

Emma Luker Tanzania, Zanzibar, 2013
“I am inspired to volunteer by all the other hardworking and passionate volunteers that I know who work together to achieve the common goal of making the world a happier and more equitable place. Plus the friendships you make and the adventures you have along the way are pretty inspiring too, making you just want to volunteer more!”

Danielle New Arusha, Tanzania, currently; Tanzania, 2013 “I volunteer because I want to use my skills and knowledge as a teacher in a positive way to benefit the youth of Tanzania. I not only want teach but learn as much as I can -- each day I learn as much from these amazing youth as they do from me. “

Danielle New Arusha, Tanzania, currently; Tanzania, 2013
“I volunteer because I want to use my skills and knowledge as a teacher in a positive way to benefit the youth of Tanzania. I not only want teach but learn as much as I can — each day I learn as much from these amazing youth as they do from me. “

Angela Mark Guyana, 2011 “I volunteer because I love to make connections between people. It is only through genuine connection that we learn about each other and ourselves.”

Angela Mark Guyana, 2011
“I volunteer because I love to make connections between people. It is only through genuine connection that we learn about each other and ourselves.”

Arielle Goldschlager Volcan Irazu- Costa Rica, 2008 “Volunteering creates a community unlike any other because it is based on altruism, it truly is something magnificent.”

Arielle Goldschlager Volcan Irazu- Costa Rica, 2008
“Volunteering creates a community unlike any other because it is based on altruism, it truly is something magnificent.”

Bhabi Neupane Ghana, 2013 "My passion to work with people inspires me to volunteer. I believe volunteering gives hands-on skills at work and rich experience of travel and culture of different places."

Bhabi Neupane Ghana, 2013
“My passion to work with people inspires me to volunteer. I believe volunteering gives hands-on skills at work and rich experience of travel and culture of different places.”

Carol Church Guyana, 1995 “I was inspired to volunteer as a leader because I felt my career choice in the corporate world, was missing something. I felt removed from the challenges of others in the world. I have always enjoyed working with kids/youth and loved watching them grow and mature. Guyana challenged me both spiritually and intellectually. We had to be problem solvers. When I came back I had my bank sponsor a 5K race in downtown Toronto to raise money for YCI. All in all, it was a great experience. My niece followed in my footsteps several years later as a Challenger.”

Carol Church Guyana, 1995
“I was inspired to volunteer as a leader because I felt my career choice in the corporate world, was missing something. I felt removed from the challenges of others in the world. I have always enjoyed working with kids/youth and loved watching them grow and mature. Guyana challenged me both spiritually and intellectually. We had to be problem solvers. When I came back I had my bank sponsor a 5K race in downtown Toronto to raise money for YCI. All in all, it was a great experience. My niece followed in my footsteps several years later as a Challenger.”

Charis Jung Ghana, 2014 “The joy on the faces of the people I've encountered and their passionate pursuit of their dreams inspires me to volunteer.”

Charis Jung Ghana, 2014
“The joy on the faces of the people I’ve encountered and their passionate pursuit of their dreams inspires me to volunteer.”

Christine Hunter Tanzania (Zanzibar), 2014 I volunteer because “Doing nothing for others is the undoing of ourselves.” ― Horace Mann.

Christine Hunter Tanzania (Zanzibar), 2014
I volunteer because “Doing nothing for others is the undoing of ourselves.” ― Horace Mann.

Cynthia Thompson Vanuatu, 2006 (yikes it's really been that long!) “I'm fortunate enough to have the time and ability to volunteer. I figure if I can help, then why not?! Not everyone is so lucky.”

Cynthia Thompson Vanuatu, 2006 (yikes it’s really been that long!)
“I’m fortunate enough to have the time and ability to volunteer. I figure if I can help, then why not?! Not everyone is so lucky.”

Amanda Armstrong Guyana, 2011 “My passion for what I do and my desire to inspire others is the reason I volunteer. The skills, development, and life-changing experiences that volunteering provides inspires me.”

Amanda Armstrong Guyana, 2011
“My passion for what I do and my desire to inspire others is the reason I volunteer. The skills, development, and life-changing experiences that volunteering provides inspires me.”

Uncategorized

One thought on “YCI Celebrates International Volunteer Day!

  1. Reblogged this on Adventure Awaits! and commented:
    Dec. 5th is International Volunteer Day!

    To celebrate, YCI invited their volunteers to respond to the question: What inspires you to volunteer?

    I did my best to keep my answer short, but it was difficult to sum up such an amazing opportunity in just a few sentences.

    My experience volunteering in Guyana in 2012 is something I’ll never forget. It opened many doors for me, and unlocked in me a passion for travel and learning about the world. I came to see how possible it is to make real connections with people who seemed, at first, to be completely different from me. The people I met and friendships I made while living in my village were one of the best parts of my volunteer experience. This adventure is where I first got “itchy feet,” and I’m so thankful I did!

    If you’re thinking about volunteering somewhere, whether it be locally or abroad, GO FOR IT!!! I’m fairly certain that a unique experience like this will never end up on your list of regrets. (Hopefully you don’t have one of those, anyway!)

    Happy Volunteer Day!

Leave a Reply

